Steampunk · Uncategorized

Steampunk Goggles!!

The most important thing for any steampunk bride is the goggles. A quick google search will tell you, that the goggles are almost more important then the dress, so it made sense to start here. No point in trying to create a steampunk wedding if you cant get the goggles right in the first place.

I knew I really wanted goggles that would suit a wedding, and a bride at that, I wasn’t planning on having a tiara or veil so the goggles would become my hair piece.

I did a google search of goggles and found some that were really quite beautiful, but nothing that was exactly what I was looking for.

*(if you don’t feel confident in trying a hand at making them you can find some stunning goggles on Etsy I highly recommend starting there.) *

Making Goggles

Unable to find exactly what I was personally looking for I decided to have a go at making my own.
My first step was to buy a very cheap base goggles that I would change to suit me, the best quality for cheapest money I found was on Ebay, about $4 (AUD). Once I had found the right colour goggles, I set about collecting the small items that would create the look I was going for, in this case ribbon flowers, lace, twine with a gold twist and other small items that were around the house.

I broke down the goggles into all its parts even taking the elastic off the back of the goggles, this aloud me to look at each part as an individual.  I placed the lace at the back just under the loop of the goggles and wound the twine around the lenses, and used the small items as decoration from there. I used a hot glue gun to attach all the items and the base materials, because and dries quickly.

I found a clear plastic lid of a small container and used that as an extra lens on the front of the goggles, the only problem was attaching it I found a solution in a broken set of headphones the type that sit inside your ears. Using the thin end I hot glued lid to the bottom after detaching the wires and the part that goes in your ear to connect to the bottom of the goggles,  you end up with a kind of loupe, you can however buy these from Amazon already made up.

reattaching all of the broken down parts, as I finished the base fabrics, the goggles came into view, and with it clear idea of the finishing that I would select from the things I had collected.

Again no shame in buying these items and I will leave a few web sites below that have really nice ones and for the base I used. If you are going to give it a go i suggest that you buy two bases as you will make mistakes.

Base Goggles 

https://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_nkw=steampunk+goggles&_frs=1

Nice Goggles

https://www.etsy.com/au/listing/184143345/steampunk-goggles-dual-iris-aperture?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=steampunk%20goggles&ref=sr_gallery_16

https://www.etsy.com/au/listing/162189884/steampunk-goggles-airship-captain?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=steampunk%20goggles&ref=sr_gallery_6

https://www.etsy.com/au/listing/548383151/royal-purple-and-silver-steampunk?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=steampunk%20goggles&ref=sr_gallery_39

 

Leave a comment